My top 5 most anticipated 2017 films

So as 2016 winds down to an end with just over a week left in the year, what better time to look ahead to the films to come for the next year and at a glance, I think 2017 has a few potential gems in store, here is my top 5 and you know what, it was actually kinda difficult to pick a top 5 with some great films vying for my top spots but here they are:

1. Guardians of The Galaxy Vol 2 – released in May 2017

My number one choice sort of goes without saying if you’ve followed my blog for a decent amount of time and know I’m a big comic book film and MCU fan but yeah we’ve seen a recent full teaser trailer and Guardians Vol 2 looks like a lot of fun, in a similar vein to the first film but with more characters, great visuals and well, the Guardians we now all know and love. Guardians snuck up on audiences from obscurity and took them on a great, thrill ride with arguably hard sell characters that worked like a charm, especially Groot – who is quite literally a talking tree, a tree that everyone loves of course, Marvel knows how to take far out ideas and sell them to audiences and the sequel should be no different, I’m expecting great things from Vol 2.

 

2. Alien: Covenant  – released on the 19th of May 2017

I am so looking forward to this film, with not that much publicity or promotion for it to be honest apart from stories here and there and a poster (I guess we’ll get a trailer in the coming weeks) but even with next to nothing but speculation, I can’t wait for the sequel to Prometheus, to see how that story gets followed up on and how it all links to the beloved albeit horrifying Alien, sci-fi horror is touched on here and there but never really to any good quality and I feel Alien has an iconic position in that sub-genre. I love mysteries in film, I always get kicks out of trying to figure them out along with others and it’s always a joy to see a director return to their first love (Ridley Scott back to Alien) in this case, a world very uniquely his and pretty fascinating in my opinion, so seeing David and Elizabeth Shaw again should be interesting, with added Xenomorphs perhaps?

 

3. Star Wars Episode 8 (VIII) – released in December 2017

Star Wars, seriously, enough said… but of course no top 5 list for 2017 can be complete without the upcoming episode 8 as we all wait for the next film in the new trilogy and as we wait for answers to the big question, why has Luke been on a random island in the middle of nowhere for so long? I’m curious to see where the story goes and what becomes of Finn and the scarred but hardened Kylo Ren, in what’s been said to be a darker sequel, the Empire Strikes Back of the new films perhaps, though I’d like to see some deviation from the original trilogy in terms of story, plus the Knights of Ren, the revelation of supreme leader Snoke and what Luke had to say to just as he sees Rey and about everything that’s happened in the past 20 years or so, can’t wait to see it!

 

4. Kingsman: The Golden Circle – released on 6th of October 2017

I adore Kingsman: Secret Service, with great action and an irreverent sense of humour to itself, it’s just a pretty fantastic spy/action film and I’m expecting bigger and better things for the sequel and if that’s managed, it will be one hell of a film. After watching Kingsman I left clamoring for more and with an expanded and actually pretty great cast, with some hopefully good execution and the returning Taron Egerton, Mark Strong and apparently Colin Firth as well… we should be in for a treat.

 

5. Justice League – released in December 2017

I almost felt compelled to put Justice League on my list, the superhero team up film that fans have been wanting for years, decades even is almost here, I grew up watching the cartoons on Cartoon network, I’m familiar with the characters so I’m so in, we’ll see if DC can pull it off but I have pretty high hopes with the direction it seems to be going in and this could well be the turning point for DC one way or the other, then again it’s only been bad for them so far (reviews wise at least) so I’m hoping it’s good.

As I said before, tough list to narrow down with some pretty great looking films being left off and just not quite making it into my top 5 which include, Kong Skull IslandLoganSpiderman: HomecomingBladerunner 2049Ghost In The Shell, to name a few but overall 2017 is shaping up really nicely, have any thoughts, opinions? What would be in your top 5? Feel free to comment.

9 thoughts on “My top 5 most anticipated 2017 films

  1. Great listing. I really like your Top 3. I can’t wait to see each of them. Star Wars would top my list though 😉 I’d also throw in the new Blade Runner and Ghost in the Shell. I’m also excited for John Wick 2 and Kong Skull Island. Let’s hope 2017 is a better overall movie year than this year. There are lots of movies to look forward to.

    Like

Leave a Reply

