My 2017 Oscars predictions

So while I’m not huge on awards season nowadays generally speaking, I’ll watch them but I’m not hugely enamoured by them any more (taste changes I guess), I thought I’d still chime in on the Oscars for this year as I tend to with the nominations coming out earlier in the week though I’m a bit late! Anyway here are my thoughts on who’ll be picking up gold in February and some reasons on my choices….

Best picture

Arrival
Fences
Hacksaw Ridge
Hell or High Water
Hidden Figures
La La Land  – Winner
Lion
Manchester By the Sea
Moonlight

La La Land just has to be a lock at the moment coming off of so much hype and praise and is the obvious choice imo but we may well see an upset this year… but I doubt it, I’m sure a lot of academy folks love Manchester by the sea and Lion as well but the musical may just take it.

Best cinematography

Arrival – winner
La La Land
Lion
Moonlight
Silence

More of a wishful winner but out of the choices, I do think it has the best cinematography by a margin with some pretty great visuals, which play some role in the films narrative as well, the most interesting film on the list too imo.

Best supporting actor

Mahershala Ali (Moonlight)  – Winner
Jeff Bridges (Hell or High Water)
Lucas Hedges (Manchester By the Sea)
Dev Patel (Lion)
Michael Shannon (Nocturnal Animals)

Hard category here with some strong choices but Mahershala takes it for me with some great buzz and with him generally being a great actor, Michael Shannon – also great but didn’t do too much in Nocturnal Animals imo, Dev Patel is also a big choice and may well be a top pick for people.

Best documentary

Fire at Sea
I Am Not Your Negro
Life, Animated
OJ: Made in America – winner
13th

I’m picking at random to be honest, I haven’t seen any of these.

Best foreign language film

Land of Mine
A Man Called Ove
The Salesman  – winner
Tanna
Toni Erdmann

Another category of things I haven’t seen, The salesman sounds kinda… nice I guess?

Best actor

Casey Affleck (Manchester By the Sea)  – winner
Andrew Garfield (Hacksaw Ridge)
Ryan Gosling (La La Land)
Viggo Mortensen (Captain Fantastic)
Denzel Washington (Fences)

Strongly contested category as ever, Gosling may not win the best actor award imo due to some strong competition and Casey Affleck may just get this, the academy seems to adore Manchester by the sea so I see it picking up some awards, I think it’ll be close between Affleck and Garfield in the end though.

Best costume design

Allied
Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them – winner
Florence Foster Jenkins
Jackie
La La Land

Interesting category here, Allied had some decent costume design but Fantastic Beasts wins this for me with its world of wizardry/30s era New York style that you just can’t quite beat for ‘cool’.

Best score

Jackie
La La Land – winner
Lion
Moonlight
Passengers

Can’t see past La La Land for this, a musical getting best score seems pretty logical.

Best song

Audition (La La Land)
Can’t Stop the Feeling! (Trolls)
City of Stars (La La Land) – winner
The Empty Chair (Jim: The James Foley Story)
How Far I’ll Go (Moana)

Again another strong chance for La La Land to win, with 2 nominations, this should be an easy sweep.

Best sound editing

Arrival – winner
Deepwater Horizon
Hacksaw Ridge
La La Land
Sully

Bit of a different choice for me,  Arrival is a film not really noted for its score/music but I think it had a pretty strong score overall, so I think it may just win this category, I expect Arrival to get a few of the technical wins generally.

Best sound mixing

Arrival
Hacksaw Ridge
La La Land – winner
Rogue One: A Star Wars Story
13 Hours

Sound mixing, a popular musical, go figure right?

Best documentary short

4.1 Miles
Extremis – winner
Joe’s Violin
Watani: My Homeland
The White Helmets

I haven not seen any of these.

Best production design

Arrival
Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them – winner
Hail, Caesar!
La La Land
Passengers

Interesting category here, Passengers and Fantastic Beasts have the most grand and out there production design but Beasts wins it for me with its sheer spectacle, great costumes and great looking sets, though Hail, Caesar! is also a potential choice with some nice period costumes and a look at Hollywood in the golden age, Hollywood tends to like films about Hollywood and its history so you never know, it could win.

Best original screenplay

Hell or High Water
La La Land – winner
The Lobster
Manchester By the Sea
20th Century Women

La La Land will be sweeping the Oscars going by my predictions and probably a lot of other peoples’ but yeah, this should be another win for it, close runner up will be Manchester by the sea.

Best adapted screenplay

Arrival
Fences
Hidden Figures
Lion
Moonlight – winner

I’d hate to see Moonlight get shut out and I think it may pick this win up, also being a favourite among critics, Arrival is the film I want to win but y’know, the Academy and sci-fi, not the best relationship in film history.

Best animated feature

Kubo and the Two Strings – winner
Moana
My Life As a Zucchini
The Red Turtle
Zootopia

Actually a fairly strong category here, two popular Disney films and no Finding Dory…. but I think Kubo may take it as the more dramatic tale, not being as mainstream as some other choices, it’s also pretty good, so there’s that.

Best animated short

Blind Vaysha
Borrowed Time – winner
Pear Cider and Cigarettes
Pearl
Piper

Also haven’t seen any of thsese…..

Best supporting actress

Viola Davis (Fences)
Naomie Harris (Moonlight)
Nicole Kidman (Lion)
Octavia Spencer (Hidden Figures)
Michelle Williams (Manchester By the Sea) – winner

I can see Williams getting this, though she has tough competition, Nicole Kidman is an academy darling and may be a top choice for many though.

Best film editing

Arrival
Hacksaw Ridge – winner
Hell or High Water
La La Land
Moonlight

I always find this category a bit weird, good editing is something you don’t really notice so… how do you note it? Good transitions between scenes, seeing scenes, action and characters clearly I suppose… Hacksaw Ridge may get this with good cinematography in general and serious, emotional subject material.

Best live-action short

Ennemis Interieurs
La Femme et le TGV
Silent Nights
Sing
Timecode – winner

I have not seen any of these either!

Best actress

Isabelle Huppert (Elle)
Ruth Negga (Loving)
Emma Stone (La La Land) – winner
Natalie Portman (Jackie)
Meryl Streep (Florence Foster Jenkins)

Big, big category, Meryl Streep is the tour de force and anyone beating her outright is big but I dunno… I think Emma Stone may just win this, my thinking is that Florence Foster Jenkins just isn’t in the zeitgest the way La La Land is now, so Stone gets this.

Best director

Denis Villeneuve (Arrival)
Mel Gibson (Hacksaw Ridge)
Damien Chazelle (La La Land) – winner
Kenneth Lonergan (Manchester By the Sea)
Barry Jenkins (Moonlight)

One of the big categories, always hotly contested…. I’d love Villeneuve to win this but I’m doubtful, it’s between Chazelle and Lonergan for me with Gibson being a close outside choice, to more or less round up La La Lands sweep, I give it to Chazelle, a passion project for him and a generally well loved film.

Best visual effects

Deepwater Horizon
Doctor Strange
The Jungle Book – winner
Kubo and the Two Strings
Rogue One: A Star Wars Story – won’t win but I’d love it to!

really, really want Rogue One to win something and especially this but the academy doesn’t much care for sci-fi or mainstream films so it’s doubtful, a well loved Disney film with some great CGI isn’t too much of a stretch for winning this.

Best makeup and hairstyling

A Man Called Ove
Star Trek Beyond
Suicide Squad – winner

Bit of an interesting category here, Suicide Squad will actually win this for me and it will be hilarious, yes Suicide Squad will win an Oscar, love it, hate it or really hate it, it had some great costume design and make up for the characters, Joker, Killer Croc and Harlie Quinn to name some so, fair enough.

Some predictable choices here in what will be a fairly predictable Oscars imo, 7 wins for La La Land and I can see that happening, if not more, though if it gets shut out that would be one of the biggest Oscar shocks in years, Hacksaw Ridge or Manchester by the sea may end up doing a lot better than I predict but I guess we have to wait and see! The 89th Oscar awards are on 26th of February.

Leave a Reply

